Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miata Tie Rod Issues

Hi All,

I know that the miata is a very popular car for rallycross, with entries in SR, PR, MR all across the country. I am wondering if anyone else is experiencing an issue with the inner tie rods bending under rallycross conditions?

I have been racing a '90 miata in MR for about 3 years now, and have had to replace the passenger inner tie rod two times now. I'm not exactly sure what sort of maneuver is causing the issue, as I haven't noticed a discrete "Hey, I just bent my tie rod!" during an event. I simply noticed that the steering wheel was off center on my drive home. Further investigation revealed the inner tie rod being no longer straight. It's not bent into a U shape or anything, more like a warped pool cue. Enough to throw the alignment off. Since the miata has the steering rack in front, this results in toe-in. I am starting to get annoyed.

Anyone else have this issue? I have looked to see if there are better/worse parts mix/match options throughout the range of model years, but it appears they are all effectively the same.

I was thinking about making a custom inner tie rod by welding some beefy tube to it, but then I would need to figure out a new outer tie rod. And, then would need to optimize to reduce bump steer. A bunch of work no matter how you look at it.

Is it bending up, down, fore, or aft? Or no preference?

I haven't got any good Miata front-end pics besides the one where the skidplate justified its existence in Frostburg. It may be apples and potatoes but I had to do some significant clearancing on the RX-7 to keep the tie rod from hitting the body at full lock and compression. Any chance that your tie-rod is suffering a similar fate? The fact that it happened to the right side both times is a clue.

Comment

The direction of bend is unknown, 'cause I didn't pay attention before pulling it apart.

Here is a pic at full lock.