Tires??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tires??

Hey guys! I'm new to RallyCross and I've been building my car for the past year with hopes of running in the 2017 season. However, I haven't been in contact with any other drivers. I'm curious as to what kind of tires you guys run. Any feedback would be very helpful!

It really depends upon what class you're expected to run in and the soil conditions of your venue.

If you're a stock class competitor, you're limited to snow tires. Your options may be limited based upon your wheel size. I've successfully used the Hankook iPikes on the Evo I used to have. Look for something with lots of voids in the tread design. Tires like the Pacemark Snowtrakker, Hercules Avalance X-treme, General Altimax Artic all look good to me. I avoided tires designed for ice.

If you're a Prepared or Modified class competitor, tire selection becomes significantly more open. I'm just getting into the Modified class so I can not offer any experience. I expect to have set for mud, another set for loose, and another set for hard conditions. When to switch from one to the other I don't know. I'll have to do some testing.
    Charles
    RXB
    MA 1995 Subaru Impreza
    SA 2000 Subaru Impreza 2.5RS

Comment

I ran my 2004 WRX Wagon for 3 years in stock AWD. My tire of choice were the Pacemark Snowtrakker. I moved up to prepared AWD and currently run the Kuhmo R700. Rally tires are awesome!
      Last edited by wheelsdirty; 03-03-2016, 02:18 PM. Reason: spelling
      Southern California Rally Media
      WheelsDirty | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Comment

That will definitely give me a place to start. Thanks guys!

Comment

As far as places to buy rally tires.....

http://www.dmacktyresusa.com/
          http://www.maxxis.com/catalog/tire-332-victra-r19
          http://rally.build/category/products/rally-tires/

I'm sure there are other places to get them. Maybe others will chime in.
          Charles